Cafe hopping on a lazy day

20140404_145235

 

On such a lazy and humid day, cafe hopping doesn’t seems to be the best thing to do. But my butt couldn’t sit still at home, which is why I still forced myself out of my bed to walk around and be a tourist in my own country.

I headed to Telok Ayer station and walked down Telok Ayer street, in search of a bakery name Sophie.

I swear the weather has to be kidding me. Just minutes ago, it was raining, and when I reached, it was hot and humid. I had to lug my heavy bag and walked down the street, only to find the cafe non air-conditioned. Someone save me please.

Despite the humidity, the furnitures and the bread made me just want to sit and people watch over there so much, and so I did. Their croissants there definitely is worth the heat! It’s buttery and crispy at the same time. & it doesn’t taste dry.

I guess it has been damn long since I got the chance to just laze around and watch my surroundings. While everyone was driving and walking past, I was just there sitting, and enjoying and wasting my time away.

But the heat is seriously too hot to bear! I ended up walking up to Telok Ayer station and sat in The Muffinry drinking some soursop smoothie. I remembered passing by this cafe at night and it seems quite crowded, which is why I love cafe hopping in the afternoon. It’s so quiet and we can just do our own stuffs here. Just grab a drink and I can sit for almost the whole day.

Now I’m just cracking my brain trying to figure out where to go for my trip. & waiting for the baseball game tonight to start.

IMG_1199

IMG_1213

I’m always fascinated by all the shophouses that have remained in Singapore. Despite many of them being tore down to make room for more developments, I feel that the government is still doing a very good job in keeping them. Heritage places like this, Telok Ayer, Tanjong Pagar, Chinatown, Haji Lane, Little India and so on. & these places are getting more and more vibrant due to the new businesses that are sprouting out in these areas. Colourfully painted shophouses, lined up with cafes, shops & some old businesses that remained in this areas, they brought vibrancy to these plain looking heritage buildings.

Now, let me just sit here a little more and let the rain pour down as I type 😀

 

 

Leave a Reply

